Buy, read, and listen to The Wicked Wolves of Windsor and other fairytales

“Feminist fairytales, timeless stories.”

Meet a horse that tells only lies, wolves who speak of curses, and a magical raven who utters riddles.

From the landscapes of medieval castles, modern skyscrapers, and Regency ballrooms, this short story collection features strong female leads and women saving themselves. 

“A literary glass of bourbon after a long day.”

A powerful debut book by Byrd Nash.

Amazon (audiobook, ebook, print book)

Barnes and Noble (ebook, print book)

Scribd and Kobo (ebook and audiobook)

Wholesale PRINT, ebook and audio is available

More audiobook options at:

APPLE BOOKS (via itunes)

Chirp

Google Play (audio books)

“A Dash of Magic, and a Hint of Wicked.”

THE FAIRYTALE SHORT STORIES

WARNING: This collection draws upon the original fairytale source material and is Grimm-esque. It will not be suitable for all readers.

The Wicked Wolves of Windsor

“I’m not going to eat you,” said the wolf as he kept pace with the bicycle. “I only want to talk.”

Between the wicked wolves of the Wild Hunt and her violent father, Doireann needs all of her wits to survive. A dark retelling of Red Riding Hood in a magical fantasy England, post WWI.

The Queen’s Favorite

Feeling the rough scaliness of his hand, the queen could only whisper, “The witch lies, sire. Who knows what mischief she wanted to cause between us?”

Queen Elaine and her talking horse must speak the truth to free themselves from a monster. An empowering tale of surviving domestic violence set in a medieval landscape.

A Society of Heartless Women

Murder, betrayal, and revenge is in fashion in this Jane Austen horror satire set in Regency Bath, England.

Granny Starseed

Between drownings and gunfire, when will granny leave? A hippy witch and her talking raven upset the lives of her family when she comes to visit their suburban home.

Milking Time

A magical fantasy set in Regency England, where a not-so-ordinary farm girl duels a sorcerer.

The Prince Learns a Lesson

A graduate student is given an impossible task: transform a spoiled prince within three days. A contemporary magical fairytale.

Listen to ALL the audio book samples here.

For wholesale AUDIO inquires find The Wicked Wolves of Windsor and other fairytales with the Audio ISBN 9781733456616.

Read a preview from the short story The Wicked Wolves of Windsor, from the collection The Wicked Wolves of Windsor and other Fairytales

An adult re-telling of Red Riding Hood

“I’m not going to eat you,” said the wolf as he kept pace with the bicycle. “I only want to talk.”

Doireann peddled faster and kept her eyes resolutely ahead. She had passed the Great Oak and was going through the heart of Windsor Forest, the estate that surrounded the castle. The dirt track was the only route from Granny Horn’s home to the village.

She pretended not to see the beast’s red eyes and the tongue as large as her hand, gaping from a mouth full of jagged teeth. He was not a natural beast. Wolves were certainly not a common occurrence in England this late summer of 1918.

“Stay on the path and you’ll be safe,” Granny Horn had told her when she complained. “That’s the rule.”

The advice galled Doireann; at fifteen she found it easy to be annoyed by old people.

If she wanted to keep her weekday job helping the postmistress this was the only way she could go. Biting her lip, the red-headed girl kept her hands death-locked on the handlebars, keeping the tires steady as it rode over the ruts.

“Do what you have to do,” said Doireann to herself, repeating one of her mother’s favorite phrases.

The wolves had started following her in the spring. The beasts always appeared after she passed the Great Oak, ravaged by lightning but still holding a few black branches to the sky.

Mostly it was two or three of the dirty beasts and once as many as five. Sometimes it would be one, like today.

Last summer, one of the wolves had jumped suddenly in front of her tires. Surprised, she hit the brake too hard and almost swerved off the path. As she righted her bicycle, her freckled face red hot with embarrassment and anger, she was greeted by howls of wolfish laughter.

Yes, she had plenty of experience with their dirty tricks.

Today’s companion had a small notch in his right ear and a white mane around his neck. This one’s tongue had always been honeyed, unlike the others who would make nasty comments about the color of her hair or called her Irish mother a witch.

Still, Doireann didn’t trust him. If anything, she suspected he was the worst of the lot.

The girl stood up from the saddle to pump the pedals harder, making the machine sway from side to side. She wished it would transport her over the miles in an instant so she wouldn’t have to listen to his nonsense.

“Doesn’t Herne have some duties for you, you nasty creature,” she said under her panting breath.

“He will in three days, my dear child,” replied the wolf, who had very keen hearing. He saw it as progress that Doireann Horn at long last directly addressed him.

What AMAZON reviews are saying:

“…reads like an old-fashioned book of fairy tales, but with a modern twist. Full of lore and magic…”

A literary glass of bourbon after a long day.

“A great collection of unpredictable and fun short stories with whimsical and dark undertones.”

A dash of magic, and a hint of wicked.”

“Nash has a knack for bringing a new twist to old stories… keeps you on edge guessing…”

“So often stories of magic are about old male magicians. Byrd Nash does not shy away from strong female characters or minorities.”

Feminist fairytales, timeless stories.”

“What I noticed straight away was that in all of the stories the main character was female and a strong one at that. No damsels in distress here.”

“These tales handle universal truths but include diversity, humor and even a dash of a modern setting. All the magic, none of the archaic.”
 — author, K.A. Miltimore

“The Queen’s Favorite… reads like a wonderful legend… A Society of Heartless Women… a horror story by way of Jane Austen’s droll sense of humor.”
— author, Helen Whistberry

What GOODREADS reviews are saying:

“If you loved Jackson Pearce’s Sisters Red and adored Davies’ Wolves and Witches, you’ll be wowed by Byrd Nash’s Wicked Wolves of Windsor.”

“These six delicious stories contain magic, sorcery, deceit, treachery and hope – “

“A great example of writing that pays homage to traditional storytelling while giving it a fresh and modern edge.”

“So often stories of magic are about old male magicians. Byrd Nash does not shy away from strong female characters or minorities.

” – stay for the magic, deception, surprises and revenge.”

” — the language, the tone, the style was beautiful. So grim tale-esque.

” – throughout there’s a feminist strand that ties them together, and all the fantastical elements that make the stories feel real in message, while maintaining their otherworldly wonder at the the same time — in the tradition of Kate Bernheimer and Angela Carter.

“What I got was a nostalgic trip back to my childhood, when a book could hold me spellbound for hours within its pages.”

“In A Society of Heartless Women, there is a bit of Holmes mixed in with the persnickety high society attitudes of Austen and the Bronte sisters…Jane Erye comes to mind. The ending…I didn’t see that one coming.”

“Nash’s writing flows beautifully and even though the backdrops may change from medieval to present day, the sense of fable holds firm in each tale.”

“Each story had a unique theme that highlighted certain issues that happen in the real world. I loved the fairytale aspect in the book but also appreciated the author’s style to include real-life happenings in this fantasy read.”

“There are plot twists and unexpected characters that will keep you interest but be warned this is not your typical sweet fairytale book but rather resembles more traditional fairytales.”

“The author understands the fairy tale genre well and presents unique variations on familiar tropes as well as introducing new ones. Standouts include the title story which places a Little Red Riding Hood character into the post World War I era and The Society of Heartless Women in which tone, content, and theme match up perfectly.”

Subscribe to my newsletter and get a FREE story: